Chiang Mai- day twenty

Transfer to park

I woke up to an all inclusive breakfast. I was so happy I didn’t have to buy anything. Although the hostel was more expensive it was probably cheaper than buying a cheap hostel and breakfast, so it was an  overall success! 


I was sad to say goodbye to this hostel because it was super cool and chilled, but I’m excited to start the next part of my travels. 



I arrived at the elephant office at 8.40am and left 5 minutes after to the sanctuary. 

Elephant introduction

When we arrived we were introduced to some of the elephants and staff and then the area we would be staying in. We unloaded some of the watermelons from the truck to kill some time. Elephants eat 10% of their weight which is like 50 watermelons each, ontop of the pumpkins, corn and rice balls they eat. 

After dinner we went upstairs where we had a ceremony by the local ‘tribe’. They said a few prayers and then get us a bracelet which they believe will give us good luck.


We retired to bed pretty early because we had to get up at 6.30am to shovel shit. This is the first time I’ve slept in a bed with a mosquito net so it was a strange sensation being wrapped up in bed but you can still see all around the room whilst inside so I didn’t feel too claustrophobic. The girls called them “princess beds”. 

Leave a Reply

